Paulo Costa Photo

Paulo Costa

Personal Gender Pronouns
George Mason University
IEEE Region
Region 01 (Northeastern U.S.)
Spoken Languages


Portuguese, Brazil

Contact Menu

Paulo Costa is Professor and Chair of the Department of Cyber Security Engineering at George Mason University. He is also Director of Mason's C5I Center and Vice President for Securing Automation and Supply Chain Security of the DOE's Cybersecurity Manufacturing Innovation Institute (CyManII). He is an expert in integrating semantic technologies and uncertainty management, and is a pioneer in the field of probabilistic ontologies. Dr. Costa developed PR-OWL, a probabilistic ontology language for the Semantic Web, and is a key contributor to UnBBayes-MEBN, a Java-based, open source implementation of Multi-Entity Bayesian Networks and the PR-OWL language. Dr. Costa has been involved in various initiatives in the areas of cyber security of mission critical systems. These include actively developing algorithms and methodologies to improve the safety and security of railways, airways, and healthcare systems. His career as a researcher includes extensive community service as reviewer in diverse academic journals and peer-reviewed conferences, guest area editor at the Journal of Advances in Information Fusion, organizer of workshops, medium and large conferences (e.g. chair of Fusion 2015), NSF panelist, invited expert at the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and other activities. He is an IEEE Senior Member and elected member of the Board of Directors of the International Society of Information Fusion. At ISIF, he acted as VP for Working Groups between 2016 and 2018, and ISIF President in 2019, being re-elected in 2020. 

ISIF Position History:
  • Present   Chair (ETURWG)
  • 2024-Present   Elected Members (Board of Directors)
  • 2024-Present   Elected Members (Elected Members)
  • 2023-Present   Higher Level Fusion Associate Editor (Perspectives Editorial Board)
  • Past   Awards Committee Members (ISIF Awards Committee)
  • 2021-2023   Past President (Board of Directors)
  • 2019-2020   President (Board of Directors)
  • 2019-2020   Past Presidents (Past Presidents)
  • 2016-2018   VP Working Groups (Board of Directors)
  • 2015-   FUSION General Chair (FUSION)
  • Recognitions:
  • 2023 Jean-Pierre Le Cadre Award
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.