## ISIF AWARDS

Dale Blair

## **2018 ISIF AWARDS**

In order to encourage excellence in the field of information fusion, the International Society of Information Fusion (ISIF) sponsors two awards. The first and most prominent ISIF award is the *ISIF Yaakov Bar-Shalom Award for a Lifetime of Excellence in Information Fusion*, given to recognize a researcher or engineer for outstanding contributions to the field of information fusion throughout their career. The second is the ISIF Young Investigator Award for Contributions to Information Fusion that is given to encourage individual effort and foster increased participation by developing researchers and engineers in the field of information fusion.



Karl Granstrom, 2018 ISIF Young Investigator, with Yaakov Bar-Shalom, Dale Blair, and Lyudmila (Mila) Mihaylova, 2018 ISIF President.

The 2018 winner of the ISIF Young Investigator Award for Contribution to Information Fusion is Karl Andreas Granström. The basis for Dr. Granström's selection for the award is his contributions to the theory and practice of tracking multiple extended targets. Lennart Svensson nominated Dr. Granström, and Ba-Ngu Vo, Fredrik Gustafsson, Peter Willett, and Umut Orguner gave references for the award. Karl is a Postdoctral Research Fellow with the Department of Electrical Engineering in Chalmers University of Technology in Sweden. He received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Linköping University in 2012.

Dr. Pramod Kumar Varshney was selected as the recipient of the 2018 *ISIF Yaakov Bar-Shalom Award for a Lifetime of Excellence in Information Fusion*. Dr. Varshney's contributions to the theory and application of information fusion, detection, estimation, and his leadership in the formation and growth of ISIF are the basis for his selection of the award. Dr. Ruixin Niu of Virginia Commonwealth University nominated Dr. Varshney, and Yaakov Bar-Shalom, Kuo-Chu Chang, Lance Kaplan, and Peter Willett served as endorsers of the nomination. Dr. Varshney is a Distinguished Professor in the Center for Advanced Systems and Engineer at Syracuse University in New York. He is an IEEE Fellow and recipient of the IEEE Third Millennium Medal in 2000.

Nominations for the *ISIF Yaakov Bar-Shalom Award for a Lifetime of Excellence in Information* and the ISIF Young Researcher Award are due to the Chair of the ISF Awards committee before January 31 in the year of the award. The ISIF Awards Committee is responsible for selecting awardees from the nominees submitted by ISIF members. The members of the 2018 ISIF Awards Committee were William Dale Blair, Chair, Yaakov Bar-Shalom, Craig Agate, Elisa Shahbazian, and Paulo Costa.



Promod Varshney, 2018 Awardee of Yaakov Bar-Shalom Award for a Lifetime of Excellence in Information Fusion, with Dale Blair, Yaakov Bar-Shalom, and Lyudmila (Mila) Mihaylova, 2018 ISIF President.